Iris Apfel can kiss my size 18 ass!!

Standard

Iris Apfel

Ok, yes, I am pissed.  And maybe this struck a  nerve with me because this freak of a designer, Iris Apfel,  looks like my mother, who holds pretty much the same type of attitudes about curvy people (people in general).

Added later today:  I have been fuming about this all day long.  I think another thing that pisses me off so much about what this woman said is that she thinks that she is so much smarter and better than everyone else that she has the right to make judgements like this about them.

She doesn’t know that maybe they can’t afford to buy fancy clothes because they have been unemployed for months and are struggling to keep their home and feed their family.  She doesn’t know if their job was outsourced by one of the company’s she owns stock in.

So what did she say to piss me off so much? This:

‘Now when I walk down Fifth Avenue in the summertime I just want to throw up.

‘It seems that the fatter and uglier people are, the fewer clothes they wear. The shorts and flip-flops and tight jeans on butts that go from here to Poughkeepsie.

‘I always say they should put people in jail for wearing clothes like that. Especially stretch jeans over [US] size 10 – they should be outlawed. Ten years ago people were starting to look like slobs in New York, now it’s an epidemic.’

Not that she would ever intervene on a bad case of misjudged style. ‘Oh, now that would be horrible. It’s a free country – if you want to look like a freak, that’s your problem.’

Talk about the pot calling the kettle black.  And yes, I know that by bringing attention to this woman, I am just helping her to become more famous.  I just couldn’t let it go, though.

So, I wanted to say to Iris Apfel today:

Kiss My Size 18 Ass, Iris Apfel!

“Kiss my Size 18 ass dressed in stretch skinny jeans.  I don’t feel like a freak, I feel beautiful!  And I can rock my curves better than your skinny little white ass ever could!!!!”

And, lest you think that I am too old to rock a pair of skinny jeans, below is Kelsea.  Kelsea is 18 years old and can wear a pair of skinny jeans better than anyone I know!!

Kelsea - photo shoot for PrimpMe Chattanooga

And yes, I realize that I live in America and she has the right to express her opinion.  Guess what?  So do I.  And my opinion is, that her opinion sucks!  And it is opinions and ideals like hers in the fashion industry that only serve to alienate them more and more from the average woman.  Of course, we all know that runway designers don’t design for the average woman – they design for stick thin models who will probably be the only people who ever wear their designs because they are so far-fetched and crazy that no one in their right mind would be caught dead in them.  But that’s ok because, “it’s a free country – if you want to look like a freak, that’s your problem.” Right?

Now, I would like to tip my hat to designers that truly know how to dress women of all sizes.  Real women that live in the real world!

    
Yuliya Raquel – IGigi        
Kiyonna
Ashley Stewart
And there are a gazillion more, but I am so upset I can’t think of them.
One response »

Leave a Reply

