I have created a new challenge for myself

Standard
Image

Cross Country Skiing

It occurred to me last week that living in Colorado will present me with the opportunity to go skiing again, cross country skiing, that is.  Then I realized that I am in horrible shape and would probably kill myself if I went out skiing without any kind of conditioning or training.

Hence, the challenge.  I decided that I would need to start exercising…again.  But, I needed to make it interesting.  So I hopped over to Google Maps and got walking directions from Cleveland, TN to Silt, CO.  

It is a total of 1511 miles from here to there.  And it just so happens that I have a cool pedometer that I bought for the last time I was going to get in shape (Ha).  Rather than having these nebulous goals of “walking more” and “getting in shape”, I chose some concrete goals:

1.  Walk 30 minutes per day – not just around the neighborhood and call it 30 minutes – actually walking 30 minutes per day at least 4 to 5 times per week.  And I have to use a timer or watch to make sure I am actually walking for 30 minutes.

2.  Meet the goal of a minimum of 5000 steps per day for this week.  

3.  Calculate the distance I have traveled each day to see how far I get on my “walk” to Silt, CO.

Since 5000 steps is only about 2.5 miles (2000 steps = 1 mile), I think I will post once a week on how far I have made it and where I am.

And since Google has pictures of most of the intersections and roads along the way, I can actually see the places I am getting to.  Cool, huh?  Unfortunately, I haven’t figured out how to copy and paste those images into the blog yet.  But, I bet you I will come up with a way to do it before next weekend. Maybe I will buy some state maps and put them up on the wall and use push pins to show my “walk” to my new home and lifestyle.

Have you ever tried this before?  I guess the idea came to me from a past experience I had with my daughter in 4-H.  They were challenging the kids to get out and be more active.  They asked the kids to log  how many miles they walked during a given period of time and they tracked it on a map.  It was neat to see how far the kids could get, as a group.  

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

