Susie Homemaker today – LOL!

Standard
Image

Colorado Weather today

This is what the weather is doing today, well, probably for the rest of the weekend.  Today is my Friday to work the late shift and Jake doesn’t have school on Fridays so we both got to sleep in a bit today (by a bit, I mean 7:00 am).

It being cold and snowy out there this morning, I started getting the Susie Homemaker vibe.  On my menu this week from emeals.com was this delicious sounding meal…
Blueberry Sizzle French Toast with Crispy Bacon.   YUMMMMMM!!

Unfortunately, I didn’t notice the “Extended Refrigeration” notice above the name.  I didn’t let that stop me though.  I went ahead and made it anyway since I had unlimited time this morning.

Bob Wire is not looking very happy today.

Bob Wire is not looking very happy today.

 

 

Since I am normally up at 5:30 am each day to work the 6:00 am to 2:00 pm shift, my body doesn’t care if I don’t have to  get up early.  I am usually up early in the mornings anyway, so I cut up the french bread and added the egg and milk mixture and let it soak in the fridge for about an hour.    After it soaked, then I put it in a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes.  I took it out of the oven and I slathered it with butter and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over it and put it back in the oven for another 10 minutes.  While it was baking, I melted some butter in a small pan, added blueberries and syrup and let that cook for about 3 minutes.

Butter, Blueberries, and Syrup

Butter, Blueberries, Nutmeg and Syrup

Baked French Toast

Baked French Bread with Egg Mixture and Sugar-Cinnamon

Blueberry Sizzle French Toast

1/2 loaf French bread, cut in 2″ cubes

5 medium eggs

1 1/2 cups milk

(2 tsp sugar, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp vanilla)

(2 Tbsp melted butter, cinnamon-sugar)

3/4 cup blueberries

(1/2 Tbsp butter, 1/3 cup maple syrup, dash nutmeg)

Place bread cubes tightly in sprayed 13×9″ baking dish.  Beat eggs, milk, sugar, salt & vanilla.  Pour over bread.  Cover & refrigerate 6-36 hours.  Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.  Remove; baste with butter; sprinkle generously with cinnamon-sugar.  Bake 5-10 more minutes.  In non-stick skillet, cook blueberries in melted butter 3 minutes.  Add syrup & nutmeg.  Bring to boil; serve warm over toast servings.

The final product, which was devoured in seconds flat.

The final product, which was devoured in seconds flat.

**Sorry about the pics being placed in strange places.  I couldn’t get them to line up correctly.

Leave a Reply

