Been A Long Time

Standard

I realize it has been a very long time since I have written a post.  Shit and Stuff got in the way.  I won’t go into the long boring details.  Suffice it to say that I have wanted to write something, just haven’t had the time to do it.

This morning, in the shower, I was thinking about dogs.  If you know me at all you would not find that to be a strange topic for me to think about.

I was thinking about why we, as human beings, get dogs.  Why do we bring them into our homes, into our lives?

I could go pull up all the clinical research and quote a bunch of statistics about how long humans have been living with dogs and how many dogs there are now living in human households.  That is not the direction my thinking went this morning.

My thoughts went to the day to day interactions we have with our dogs.  Why do we bring these hairy, slobbery, messy creatures into our homes and live with them for years and years?

Chelsea

Chelsea

Personally, I just have to look into those big brown eyes and feel the love and devotion eminating from the hairy beasts living with me and I melt.  When Chelsea, who is pretty stand-offish, climbs into bed with me at night for a little secret snuggle time, I snuggle closer to her and sleep a little sounder.  When she comes up to me at precisely the same time twice a day and looks at me with those ears up and barks and makes noises at me, I know it is feeding time for my “Fatty McChow Hound”.

Daisy, Roscoe & Peanut

Daisy, Roscoe & Peanut

When Roscoe becomes a bouncing Betty and dances all over the place, I know it is feeding time.  When Peanut actually shows a little excitement and runs around, I know it’s feeding time.

I guess my answer to the question above (Why do we bring these hairy, slobbery, messy creatures into our homes and live with them for years and years?) is I enjoy their companionship, their love, their characters, and their excentricities.  They really don’t ask very much of me, other than to feed them, on a day to day basis.

We all have so many demands on our time and resources every day from every direction. It’s refreshing and rejuvenating to me to sit down and have someone be satisfied to just be in the same room with me, to accept a pat or belly rub with no expectations.

Some of those boring statistics, that I don’t care to quote, say that we are connected to each other and the world in ways we never imagined before, and yet, I feel completely disconnected from everyone.  The time I really feel connected to people is when I am talking and listening to them in a face to face, old-fashioned way.  And seeing as how I am pretty socially awkward and shy, that is saying alot.

I am able to have that connection with my dogs every day and I would not trade that for the world.

Have you ever examined why you actually have the dogs or cats or pets you have in your life?  Let’s talk about it!  Let me know in the comments what your motivations were for getting your pet.

 

Leave a Reply

